Massachusetts Income Tax
State income taxes vary by state and are an amount of money that you pay to the state government based on a percentage of your income. Learn more about income taxes and other common tax facts in the state of Massachusetts here.
What is Taxed in Massachusetts?
What is Not Taxed in Massachusetts?
Although the state still levies a 6.25% sales tax on most physical items, there are a number of exemptions, including food, healthcare items, and more.
What is Massachusetts State Income Tax?
Similar to federal taxes, it is self-assessed. Massachusetts state income tax is levied by the state on the income you earn within a tax year.
Who Pays Massachusetts Tax?
Full-year and part-year residents could be subject to MA income tax. In fact, if you earn an income of $8,000 in the state, you should pay file a return and pay state income tax. Nonresidents of Mass. file returns is their gross income is over $8,000 or prorated personal exemption whichever is less. Learn what income is calculated and more about who should pay the state income tax on Mass.gov.
Many people wonder if Massachusetts taxes retirees. Here’s the answer: If their income exceeds $8,000, then yes.
How Do You Pay Massachusetts State Taxes?
You can pay your Massachusetts state taxes online at MassTaxConnect (through the state’s Department of Revenue) or via mail.
Sent a check or money order through the mail to make your income tax payment with your payment voucher (which is attached to your tax bill).
If you’re making estimated tax payments, be sure to include an estimated tax payment voucher. The correct mailing address will be printed on your payment voucher.
P.O. Box 419540
Boston, MA 02241-9540
(View more contact information for the Massachusetts Department of Revenue.)
How Much Should You Pay in Massachusetts State Tax?
The Massachusetts state tax rate for individuals is 5.05%. Learn more about Massachusetts tax rates.
When are Massachusetts Tax Returns Due?
The state tax deadlines often coincide with the federal tax deadline, which typically is on the federal tax deadline.
How Do You Check If You Paid Your State Taxes?
If you want to make sure your state taxes were paid, you can contact the Massachusetts Department of Revenue a number of ways:
1 – Via Phone
Toll-free in Massachusetts Call DOR Contact, Toll-free in Massachusetts at (800) 392-6089 (9 a.m.–4 p.m., Monday – Friday)
2 – Online
Visit MassTaxConnect’s Where’s My Refund? website.
Deducting Massachusetts Income Taxes
If you pay Massachusetts income tax, the IRS allows you to claim a deduction on your federal tax return for them. You can claim a state income tax deduction if you itemize deductions on your federal return.
To determine if you should itemize your deductions, add up your calendar-year deductible expenses, including your state income tax expense, to see if the total is greater than the standard deduction amount for your filing status. If you are single you can claim a standard deduction of $12,400. So, if you pay more than $12,400 in state income taxes and other itemized deductions, then consider itemizing your taxes.
Due to the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act, state and local tax deductions, including state income taxes, are limited to $10,000 per year ($5,000 for married filing separately).
More Help with Mass Tax
Understanding your tax obligation and potential federal deductions you can take. What’s even more time-intensive is how to deduct state tax from your federal taxes as an itemized deduction.
So, get help! Use Tax Pro Go, virtual tax prep offered by H&R Block. With this service, we’ll match you with a tax pro with Mass tax expertise. Then, you will upload your tax documents, and our tax pros will do the rest! We can even help with not only state taxes, including federal deductions for paying state taxes.
Taking in state tax considerations, we can make sure you are supported when it comes to taxes.
Do you own real property in Connecticut? Get your CT property tax rate questions answered with help from the experts at H&R Block.
Need to attach documents to your e-filed return? Find out from the tax experts at H&R Block about how Form 8453 is used to e-file your return.
If you sold your home before living in it for three year do you have to repay the first-time homebuyer credit? Learn more from the tax experts at H&R
Looking for more information about your West Virginia refund? Find out details on how to check your refund status, who to contact, and more from H&R Block.