H&R Block Frequently Asked Questions
Please see our entire Privacy Notice for more detailed answers to your questions. Our Privacy Notice may be updated by us from time to time, so please check back frequently.
If you used H&R Block's online tax preparation product and paid to prepare your tax return in the past 6 years, you can obtain a copy of your prior year return by signing in to your account with the same username and password used to originally create the account (this service is not available in our free programs).
Sign in to your account and click on the appropriate link(s). Unfortunately, if you're trying to reset your password and you're unable to remember your identifying information you won't be able to reset it, as we don't keep passwords on file for security reasons. You'll need to create a new account.
If you've already e-filed or mailed your return to the IRS or state taxing authority, you'll need to complete an amended return. You can file Form 1040X through the H&R Block online and software tax preparation products or by going to your local H&R Block office. Additional fees may apply.
You may view and update your personal information through MyBlockSM. You can delete your MyBlockSM account through the "Manage Account" and "Account Settings" screens. If you have questions, you may contact us or call 1-800-HRBLOCK. We will respond to requests within a reasonable timeframe.
When you update information, we may, however, maintain a copy of the unrevised information in our records. Additionally, if you request we delete your account or information, we may still retain and use your information as necessary to comply with our legal obligations.
We retain your information for as long as your account is active or as needed to provide you services. We may retain or use your information as necessary to comply with our policies, legal obligations, resolve disputes, and enforce our agreements. The IRS requires us to retain filed tax returns for a period of at least three years.
It is our policy that if you start, but do not complete, a tax return in our online tax programs, we will keep the tax return information you provide until the end of the tax season, after which it will be deleted from our system.
Visit the support page and choose your preferred method of contact.
You may choose to limit our use or our ability to share your information in certain circumstances. Our ability to offer you certain products and services and your experience may be affected by your choice. To opt out of electronic communications, visit the opt-out preferences page. To opt out of all other communications call us at 1-800-HRBLOCK. You may, however, continue to receive e-mail communications related directly to the services and products you purchase, such as payment receipts and e-file status notifications.